Where to Next?

I was on a plane going home from a long vacation in the south. At the very last page of the travel magazine I was reading on-board, I saw the picture above that says “Where to Next?” Coincidentally I was thinking of the same thing. And that’s how It all dawned on me – I got the bug… the travel bug!

_DSC3910
my visit to Mayon Volcano an active volcano in the province of Albay. renowned as the “perfect cone” because of its almost symmetric conical shape. – Wikipedia

I realized, growing up, one of the most memorable and happiest times I have were traveling to different places. May it be just going to a family friend’s house, going to Pangasinan (our hometown) or going to Baguio (where I was born) or just anywhere! For my Ate (big sister) it was always a dreaded experience since she used to have travel-sickness. But for me, it was always a fun experience. (We’ve been going to and from the province for like a thousand times but it was only twice i felt nauseous in a bus ride, and that’s it!)

day 3 - white water rafting cdo 06162011 (35)
we did Rafting in Cagayan de Oro

I finally got the chance to freely travel with friends when I started earning my own money. One of the best part for me, other than the journey itself is creating my own itinerary. I find great pleasure in researching the best places to visit (including the off beaten paths), delicacies to devour and other adventures you can try (snorkling, zipline, spelunking, canyoneering, etc.)

461562_3074158607802_1195510618_o
after my jump at The Plunge in Danao, Bohol. one of the world’s highest canyon swings with a 75-meter free fall. its launch deck is situated 200 meters above the canyon floor, and the free fall takes around four seconds.

With this wanderlust, i am so grateful to be born and raised in a country, the Philippines (with its 7,107 islands and islets), blessed with rich and gorgeous places, culture, and food.

Here’s just a little glimpse of it:

DSC04963
another crossed-out item from my bucket list. Chocolate Hills – a geological formation in Bohol. There are at least 1,260 hills but there may be as many as 1,776 hills spread over an area of more than 50 square kilometres (20 sq mi). They are covered in green grass that turns brown (like chocolate) during the dry season, hence the name. – Wikipedia
DSC05343
we get to see dolphins swimming just a few feet away from us, from our boat ride going to Balicasag Island
_DSC0296
finally get to see up-close the Banaue Rice Terraces, a 2,000-year-old terraces that were carved into the mountains of Ifugao in the Philippines by ancestors of the indigenous people and one of the “Eighth Wonder of the World” The terraces are located approximately 1500 metres (5000 ft) above sea level. Wikipedia
DSC06858
our snorkling in Coron, Palawan. personally saw the very diverse and healthy marine life of the island

I don’t want to be just a tourist who goes to a place, takes pictures of it, goes home and that’s it. I want to be a traveler who goes to a place, takes picture of it, spends time knowing and learning from its culture and its people, and remember it for the rest of my life. ❤

DSC06732
me, my sister and papa enjoying the water in Kayangan Lake in Palawan. it is dubbed as the cleanest lake in Asia

I haven’t been outside of the country and I love to go abroad to get a load of what they have to offer. For now, while I’m still saving up for that overseas trip, I’ll continue with my little adventures here at “home”

day 2 - white island camiguin 06152011 (32)
the picturesque view of Mt. Hibok-Hibok in Camiguin (from a sandbar we went to). a stratovolcano and one of the active volcanoes in the country and part of the Pacific ring of fire. with an elevation of 1,332 metres (4,370 ft) and a base diameter of 10 kilometres (6.2 mi). – Wikipedia

Peace out!

signature2

18 thoughts on “Where to Next?

Watcha Think?

